about-header

The why, the how, the what and the who behind the Wajenzi campaign

On this page you find more information about the Wajenzi platform and network, why it was established and by whom. Here you also find information on how you can participate in spreading the Wajenzi word to reach an even greater audience. You can download the campaign materials and share within your (digital) community.

Why, what & how

Why

All over the world in (post-)conflict areas, individuals and organisations are working to enact change and promote peace. Due to limited publicity, these changemakers and their communities often aren’t aware of other initiatives being carried out in their own area or across the country.

Changemakers also often have trouble connecting with one another. And at the same time, many community members don’t know how to contribute and lack positive role models in their near surrounding.

What

Wajenzi is a platform and network for young changemakers from the North and South Kivu region in D.R. Congo. ‘Wajenzi Wa Amani’ is Swahili for ‘builders of peace’. This reflects the character of and the activities done by the young changemakers. Wajenzi are those people who make a difference by simple acts in their everyday lives or in that of others. They are the drivers of social change. This campaign offers a platform for these often unheard stories, to support the efforts of young changemakers and to spread the word.

How

Wajenzi has a campaign cycle of three phases.

The first phase of Wajenzi is to encourage young changemakers to share their initiatives. Wajenzi strives to find as many young changemakers as possible with help from the community. The Wajenzi team requests people to submit their own Wajenzi. They will then call up and create portraits of the young changemakers from the Kivu region in the D.R. Congo whose activities fit the Wajenzi campaign.

The second phase is to spread the showcased initiatives through various media channels and networks. The audience can give their support by sending a message on the Wajenzi profiles. These messages, submitted in the Shout Out boxes on the profiles, are sent directly to the specific Mjenzi* as an SMS In addition, the audience can vote for their favourite Wajenzi. The most inspiring changemakers will be awarded during an award ceremony. This festive ending of the campaign is the starting point for the third phase.

In the third phase, those Wajenzi who have gained most votes are connected through a mobile phone network. Within this network, they can exchange their successes, tips and tools, pose questions, as well as share their experiences and challenges. They can send their requests by calling or texting to our Wajenzi number. This number is linked to a database system, which makes it possible for all Wajenzi to be connected with their peers who could answer their requests.

Wajenzi starts as a network of young changemakers from the Kivu region in the D.R. Congo. We aim to create a Wajenzi movement in a larger area, namely Burundi, Rwanda and the entire country of the D.R. Congo.







How can you participate?

There are many ways you can join the Wajenzi movement.

Do you want to nominate someone?

If you think you are a Mjenzi or do know someone who is, you can submit that person by clicking here. But make sure the Mjenzi fits the criteria. The Wajenzi actions or initiatives should be;
  • Youth-originated: initiatives from youth (18 to 35 years);
  • Personal: initiatives set up and led by individuals or small groups;
  • Positive: initiatives that lead to positive change;
  • Non-judgmental: initiatives that do not condemn or exclude others;
  • Inspirational: initiatives that incite peers to take action themselves no matter what resources or status you may have.
For an overview of all criteria, click on the download link on the right.

Do you want to nominate someone?

Firstly, you can send a Shout Out message to a Mjenzi, you find the Shout Out box on the bottom of his or her profile. This message can be maximum 159 characters in length, because it will be automatically sent as an SMS to him or her. This way you are sure your support will reach him or her directly.

If you want to spread a specific Mjenzi story, you can do so by clicking on the Facebook button on the Mjenzi profile. The Mjenzi story will be transformed into a Facebook post, so that your Facebook network will know about the Mjenzi you support.

Also, from phase 2 of the Wajenzi campaign onwards, you can also vote for your favourite Mjenzi by clicking on the Vote-button on his or her profile. The Wajenzi who will have most votes will be adopted into the mobile network and will receive prizes such as trainings and equipment.

Download the campaign materials so that you can put the banner on your Facebook wall, use the jingle in your radio show, etc.

Are you a journalist, a broadcasting station or in any other way involved in positive storytelling?

Perhaps you are a journalist, a host at a radio station or a programmer at a TV station and you are looking for new and inspiring content. The Wajenzi campaign invites you to (re-)publish the Wajenzi stories in your own network, platform or shows. On the Wajenzi profiles you can download or copy the textual, audio- or visual stories for your own use. You can also download other campaign materials by clicking on the buttons below.

Do you want to participate as a partner?

We are always looking for partners who can give support in any way. If you think you can be of added value, drop us a line at hello@wajenzi.co

Who we are

Wajenzi is the result of a co-creation workshop that took place in Bukavu, D.R. Congo in June 2013. During this workshop, representatives from media organisations, NGO’s, youth representatives and artists joined forces to co-create a campaign and a platform for social change. The aim was to reward young changemakers and inspire the opinion leaders of tomorrow.

Wajenzi is part of the ‘Roadmap To Peace’ programme of Oxfam Novib and Radio La Benevolencija. It is a regional programme (D.R. Congo, Burundi and Rwanda) to support organisations and civil society to play a key role in the construction of peace and to end regional conflict.

Founders

Oxfam Novib, Radio la Benevolencija, Radio Netherlands Worldwide and Butterfly Works joined forces in making Wajenzi kick off.

Butterfly Works is the initiator and concept developer of Wajenzi. The Wajenzi concept is inspired by experiences of Butterfly Works in running ‘Unsung Peace Heroes’ and ‘Building Bridges’, which are peace mapping campaigns in Kenya.

Radio Netherlands Worldwide secures that Wajenzi stands for an open exchange of ideas and stories. Also, their local team members are part of producing the Wajenzi (audiovisual) stories that are found on the profile pages.

Radio La Benevolencjia is the project manager in D.R. Congo and allign the Wajenzi activities with other projects and initiatives in the region.

Oxfam Novib supported Wajenzi from the very first start and keeps an eye on the regional impact of the activities.

Journalists and media

Independent journalists play an important role in the campaign. They are the storytellers and provide people from all layers of the society with inspiring stories and practical examples. They have the capacities to reach out to a broad audience on a local, regional and international level. From youth in a village nearby and regional policy makers to the international media.

The media network within the Kivu’s region plays a big role in sharing stories of the young changemakers and invite new change makers to join the network. Local and international media help us spread the word. Radio stations for example broadcast Wajenzi stories and call up for entries and voting. The stories and profiles of the young changemakers inspire other media formats such as debates, theater, music and printed media.



* The word “Wajenzi” is the Swahili word for “builders”. The word “Mjenzi” is the singular form of Wajenzi.

about-header

Pourquoi, quoi, qui et comment : les coulisses de la campagne Wajenzi

Sur cette page, vous trouverez plus d’informations sur la plateforme et le réseau Wajenzi, pourquoi et qui les a mis en place. Vous trouverez également ici des informations sur la façon de participer pour diffuser le mot Wajenzi et toucher ainsi une plus grande audience. Vous pouvez télécharger les matériaux de la campagne et les partager au sein de votre communauté (numérique).

Pourquoi, quoi & comment

Pourquoi

Dans toutes les régions de (post)conflits à travers le monde, des individus et des organismes travaillent pour susciter le changement et promouvoir la paix. Puisqu’il n’y a que peu de publicité autour de ces actions, ces acteurs du changement au sein de leurs communautés ignorent souvent que d’autres initiatives existent dans leur propre région ou dans leur pays.

Les acteurs du changement ont également parfois du mal à se connecter les uns aux autres. Dans le même temps, de nombreux membres des différentes communautés ne savent pas comment apporter leur contribution et ne connaissent pas de modèle positif dans leur entourage proche.

Quoi

Wajenzi est à la fois une plate-forme et un réseau destinés aux jeunes acteurs du changement de la région du Nord et du Sud-Kivu en République démocratique du Congo. L’expression “Wajenzi Wa Amani” signifie “constructeurs de la paix” en Swahili. Cela reflète la personnalité et la nature des initiatives menées par les jeunes acteurs du changement. Les Wajenzi sont ces personnes qui font la différence, par des actes simples dans leur vie quotidienne ou dans celle des autres. Ils sont les meneurs de l’évolution sociale. Cette campagne offre une plate-forme d’expression pour ces histoires méconnues, pour soutenir les efforts de ces jeunes acteurs du changement et faire passer le mot.

Comment

La campagne Wajenzi est constituée de trois phases. La première phase de Wajenzi consiste à encourager les jeunes acteurs du changement à partager leurs initiatives. Wajenzi s’emploie à trouver autant de jeunes acteurs du changement possible avec l’aide de toute la communauté. L’équipe Wajenzi invite chacun à introduire son Mjenzi*. Ils se mobilisent ensuite, et créent les portraits des jeunes acteurs agissant dans la région appartenant au champ d’action Wajenzi.

La deuxième phase est la diffusion des initiatives par le biais de différents médias et réseaux. Le public peut apporter son soutien en laissant un message sur le profil du Wajenzi. Ces messages, envoyés grâce à la rubrique « Passe ta voix » présente sur les profils, sont envoyés directement au Mjenzi concerné. De plus, le public peut également voter pour son Mjenzi préféré. Les acteurs du changement les plus inspirants seront récompensés durant une cérémonie d’hommage. Cette rencontre festive est le point de départ de la troisième phase.

Durant la troisième phase, les Wajenzi qui ont remporté le plus de votes sont connectés entre eux via un réseau de téléphones mobiles. Au sein de celui-ci, ils peuvent partager leurs succès, leurs trucs et astuces, poser des questions, et aussi échanger autour de leurs expériences et des obstacles rencontrés. Ils peuvent envoyer leurs questions en appelant ou en envoyant un message à notre numéro spécial Wajenzi. Ce numéro est indexé sur une base de données, qui permet à tous les Wajenzi d’être connectés entre eux pour répondre aux questions de chacun.

Wajenzi débute comme un réseau de jeunes acteurs du changement qui vivent dans la province du Kivu en République démocratique du Congo. Notre but est de créer un mouvement Wajenzi dans une région plus importante : Burundi, Rwanda et toute la République démocratique du Congo.

Comment pouvez-vous participer ?

Il existe plein de façons différentes de participer au mouvement Wajenzi.

Souhaitez-vous désigner quelqu’un ?

Si vous pensez être un Mjenzi ou si vous connaissez quelqu’un qui l’est, vous pouvez soumettre la candidature de cette personne en cliquant ici. Cependant, assurez-vous que le Mjenzi réponde aux critères. Les actions ou les initiatives des Wajenzi doivent être :
  • centrées sur la jeunesse : les initiatives viennent des jeunes (de 18 à 35 ans),
  • personnelles : des initiatives initiées et conduites par des individus ou des petits groupes,
  • positives : des initiatives qui mènent à un changement positif,
  • sans jugement : des initiatives qui ne condamnent ni excluent les autres,
  • inspirantes : des initiatives qui incitent les autres à prendre eux-mêmes des actions, quels que soient leur statut ou leurs ressources.
Pour prendre connaissance de tous les critères, cliquez sur le lien de téléchargement à droite.

Souhaitez-vous soutenir un Mjenzi ?

Vous pouvez tout d’abord envoyer un message Passe ta voix à un Mjenzi. Vous trouverez la rubrique Passe ta voix au bas de son profil. Ce message doit être d’une longueur de 159 caractères maximum, car il lui sera envoyé directement par SMS. Ainsi, vous pouvez être sûr que votre soutien l’atteindra directement.

Si vous voulez diffuser l’histoire d’un Mjenzi en particulier, vous pouvez le faire en cliquant sur l’icône Facebook sur le profil du Mjenzi. Son histoire sera transformée en un post Facebook, permettant ainsi que votre réseau Facebook découvre le Mjenzi que vous soutenez.

Durant la phrase 2 de la campagne Wajenzi, vous pourrez aussi voter pour votre Mjenzi préféré en cliquant sur la case “Voter” située sur son profil. Les Wajenzi qui auront le plus de votes seront intégrés dans notre réseau mobile et recevront des récompenses telles que des formations ou des équipements.

Etes-vous un journaliste, une radio ou tout simplement investi dans la narration d’une histoire positive ?

Vous êtes peut-être un journaliste, vous hébergez une station de radio ou vous êtes programmateur d’une chaîne TV et vous recherchez un contenu nouveau et inspirant ? La campagne Wajenzi vous invite à (re)publier les histoires des Wajenzi sur votre propre réseau, plate-forme ou émission. Sur les profils des Wajenzi, vous pouvez télécharger ou copier les histoires en version texte, audio ou visuelle, pour votre propre utilisation. Vous pouvez aussi télécharger les autres outils de campagne en cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous.

Souhaitez-vous participer en tant que partenaire ?

Nous sommes toujours à la recherche de partenaires qui nous apportent leur soutien sous toutes ses formes. Si vous pensez que vous pouvez nous aider, écrivez-nous quelques lignes à l’adresse hello@wajenzi.co

Qui sommes-nous

Wajenzi est le résultat d’un atelier de co-création qui a eu lieu à Bukavu, RDC en juin 2013. Pendant ces ateliers, des porte-parole d’organismes de médias, des ONG mais également des représentants de la jeunesse et des artistes se sont rejoints pour co-créer une campagne et une plate-forme pour le changement social. L’objectif est de récompenser des jeunes acteurs du changement et d’inspirer les leaders d’opinion de demain.

Wajenzi fait partie de la « Feuille de route du programme de paix » d’Oxfam Novib et Radio La Benevolencija. La Feuille de route de la Paix est un programme régional (RD Congo, Burundi et Rwanda) qui a pour but d’aider les organismes et la société civile à jouer un rôle essentiel dans la construction d’une société pacifique et pour mettre fin au conflit régional.

Fondateurs

Oxfam Novib, Radio la Benevolencija, Radio Nederland Worldwide et Butterfly Works ont rassemblé leurs forces en créant Wajenzi.

Butterfly Works est l’initiateur et le développeur du concept de Wajenzi. Le concept Wajenzi a été inspiré par les expériences de Butterfly Works qui a déjà dirigé “Héros inconnus de la Paix” et “Construire des Ponts”, des campagnes promouvant la paix au Kenya.

Radio Netherlands Worldwide s’assure que Wajenzi représente un échange ouvert d’idées et d’histoires. Les membres de l’équipe locale contribuent à produire les histoires Wajenzi (audiovisuelles) qui sont présentes sur leur page de profil.

Radio La Benevolencjia est le chef de projet en RDC et assure la liaison entre les activités Wajenzi et les autres projets de la région.

Oxfam Novib soutient Wajenzi depuis le début et garde un oeil sur l’impact régional des activités.

Journalistes et médias

Les journalistes indépendants jouent un rôle important dans la campagne. Ils sont les raconteurs d’histoires et fournissent aux personnes de toutes les couches sociales de la société des histoires inspirantes et des exemples pratiques. Ils ont les capacités de toucher une large audience à un niveau local, régional et international. De la jeunesse d’un village des environs aux décideurs politiques régionaux en passant par les médias internationaux.

Le réseau des médias dans la région du Kivu joue un grand rôle dans le partage des histoires des jeunes acteurs du changement et en invite de nouveaux à joindre le réseau. Les médias locaux et internationaux nous aident à diffuser notre parole. Les stations de radio locales diffusent par exemple des histoires de Wajenzi et invitent eles auditeurs à s’inscrire et à voter. Les histoires et les profils des jeunes acteurs du changement inspirent d’autres médias, pensez à des discussions, théâtre, musique et médias de presse.



* Le mot “Wajenzi” signifie “Constructeurs” en Swahili. Le mot “Mjenzi” est le singulier de Wajenzi.