wajenzi_demo_large01

Pascal Mugaruka, Goma

I dream of D.R. Congo playing the role of a modern nation in Africa, a nation in which we aspire to maintain peace and reconciliation.

Watch Pascal's story below:

Pascal, a great leader

Pascal Mugaruka is only 30 and already a striking image of the peace process that is going on in D.R. Congo. Founder of the Reconciled Africa movement and President of the Congo Unite movement, he presents himself as an “activist for reconciliation, peace and development in D.R. Congo”. He defines his commitment around two approaches: giving the help needed to victims of conflicts and creating a dialogue between the different tribes of D.R. Congo. A long term fight, to which Pascal commits himself with passion and resolution, for the future of his country.

Answering the populations’ needs

Development is the centre point of Pascal and his colleagues’ actions. “With the current war, a lot of families are victims of the conflicts in D.R. Congo and there is no government strategy to help these people from a socio-economic point of view.” Yet, no peace without economic stability and viability. To help those families leaving the difficult situation in which they were placed because of the war, Pascal’s organisation launched an interesting initiative.
We give microcredits to widowed women. Each woman gets 50 dollars.
More than socio-humanitarian work, this project is a true springboard towards a better future.
With those 50 dollars they start a professional activity that creates an income.

Peace and reconciliation as an objective

According to Pascal, the true challenge for his country is to re-create a dialogue between its inhabitants, to work towards reconciling the different groups in D.R. Congo. This idea of reconciliation is at the center of Pascal’s commitment in his organisation. That is what led him to organise, last summer, a unique meeting in D.R. Congo “Between the 25th and the 30th of July 2014, we organised a great national conference. This conference is part of our activities for the reconciliation. It reunited more than 250 young people coming from every province of D.R. Congo. We had one goal with this meeting; to gather young people from different tribes, different provinces, in an environment that brings peace and that promises the reconciliation and the unity of D.R. Congo” . This conference, those exchanges, the debates, are for Pascal the essential component of the reconciliation of his country :
“It gave me a peek into what the future of the country could look like.”

At the center of his action: youth

"For me, Pascal is a great leader, who fights for Congo youth. He inspires me a lot."
This sole sentence represents the importance and the impact of Pascal's work on young people of D.R. Congo. By placing youth at the centre of his commitment, he shows his belief in youth's abilities, and that an alternative future is possible for his country - one without war. Another young man, present during the discussions of last July, remembers: "During the meeting, he told us something: 'in our country, where we live through a lot of unbearable situations, we have to learn to create our world. Because if we don’t manage to have our own world, we will keep living in the world of others'. And this sentence has accompanied us since then, we the youth." A leader yes, but Pascal is nonetheless conscious of the fact that the youth of D.R. Congo must work for their future. Thus, he offers to those young people the opportunity to take charge of their country's future, a future that sometimes seems to escape them.

Commitment to D.R. Congo

Pascal is fully aware that the path to peace is still long. However, he shows a sincere and complete trust in his country's youth. In the next 5 years, he can see D.R. Congo play a great role in Africa". In the end, what he hopes is to have a part in the making of D.R. Congo.
"A modern nation, a nation where everyone when arriving, aspires to maintain peace and reconciliation, a nation where there is visionary and positive leadership."
Shout Out

159

wajenzi_demo_large01

Pascal Mugaruka, Goma

Je rêve d’un Congo qui joue le rôle d’une nation modèle en Afrique, une nation où l’on aspire à la paix et la réconciliation.
Voici l'interview de Pascal en vidéo ;
Voici l'interview de Pascal en audio ; [sc_embed_player_template1  downloadable fileurl="http://www.wajenzi.co/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/Pascal-Mugaruka.mp3"]  

Pascal,« Un grand leader »

À 30 ans seulement, Pascal Mugaruka est déjà une figure marquante du processus de pacification à l’oeuvre en République Démocratique du Congo. Fondateur du mouvement Afrique Réconciliée, et Président du Mouvement Congo Unite, il se présente comme un “activiste pour la réconciliation, la paix et le développement en RDC”. Son engagement, il le définit autour de deux axes : fournir aux populations victimes de conflits une aide adaptée, et créer un dialogue entre les différentes tribus de RDC. Un combat de longue haleine, dans lequel Pascal s’engage avec passion et détermination, pour l’avenir de sonv pays.

Répondre aux besoins des populations

Le développement est un axe primordial de l’action menée par Pascal et ses collaborateurs. “Avec le conflit que nous sommes en train de traverser, beaucoup de familles sont victimes des conflits en RDC et il n’y a aucune stratégie que le gouvernement a mise en place pour encadrer et pour prendre en charge ces gens là d’une manière socio-économique.” Or, pas de paix sans stabilité et viabilité économique. Pour aider ces familles à quitter la situation difficile dans laquelle la guerre les a placées, l'organisation de Pascal est à l’origine d’une initiative intéressante :
“Nous donnons aux femmes veuves des micro crédits, chaque femme reçoit 50 dollars”
. Plus qu’une aide socio-humanitaire, ce projet est un vrai pari sur l’avenir :
“avec ces 50 dollars elles commencent une activité génératrice de revenus”.

Paix et réconciliation comme objectif

Selon Pascal, le véritable enjeu pour son pays est avant tout de renouer le dialogue entre ses habitants, et donc d’oeuvrer à la réconciliation des différentes populations de RDC. Cette idée de réconciliation, elle est centrale dans l’engagement de Pascal au côté de son organisation. C’est ce qui l’a conduit à organiser, l’été dernier, une rencontre unique en son genre en République Démocratique du Congo : “en juillet 2014, du 25 au 30, nous avons organisé une grande conférence nationale. Cette conférence entre dans le cadre des nos activités pour la réconciliation. (Elle) a réuni plus de 250 jeunes qui sont venus de toutes les provinces de la RDC (...) On avait juste un objectif pour cette conférence, c’est de réunir les jeunes de différentes tribus, des différentes provinces, dans un cadre qui procure la paix et qui promet la réconciliation et l’unité de la RDC.“. Ces rencontres, ces échanges, ces débats et la sensibilisation de la jeunesse, c’est pour Pascal la formule indispensable à la réconciliation du pays :
“C’était pour moi quelque chose qui m’a donné même l’image du Congo futur.“

La jeunesse au centre de son action

“Pour moi Pascal représente un grand leader, qui se bat pour la jeunesse du Congo. Il m’inspire beaucoup.”
A elle seule, cette phrase représente l’importance et l’impact du travail de Pascal auprès des jeunes habitants de RDC. En mettant la jeunesse au centre de son engagement, il parie sur l’avenir et montre qu’un autre destin est possible pour le pays, loin de la guerre. Un autre jeune, présent lors des échanges de juillet dernier, témoigne : “il nous a dit ceci : dans notre pays, où il y a beaucoup de situations insupportables que nous vivons, nous devons apprendre à créer notre monde, parce que si nous n’arrivons pas à avoir notre monde à nous, nous continuerons à jouer dans le monde des autres. Et cette phrase nous a toujours accompagnés, nous les jeunes”. Leader, Pascal n’en est en effet pas moins conscient que c’est à la jeunesse de RDC d’oeuvrer dès aujourd’hui pour son avenir. Il offre ainsi à ces jeunes la possibilité de reprendre possession du futur de leur pays, qui semble parfois leur échapper au profit de conflits armés incessants.

Donner de l’ambition à la RDC

Pascal en a bien conscience, le parcours jusqu’à la paix est encore long. Cependant, il affiche une confiance sincère et totale dans la jeunesse de son pays : “Pour les 5 ans qui viennent, je suis en train de voir la République Démocratique du Congo qui joue son rôle au niveau de l’Afrique”. Ce qu’il souhaite finalement, c’est de contribuer à en faire:
“ une nation moderne, une nation où tout le monde quand il arrive, aspire la paix et la réconciliation, une nation où il y a un leadership visionnaire et positif”.



Voulez-vous imprimer cette histoire? Téléchargez le PDF ici.
Passe ta voix

159