wajenzi_demo_large01

Robert Njangala, Bukavu

We collaborate with the police to track down criminals in Essence district in Bukavu.

Robert, committed

With a firm and clear voice, a determined speach, Robert Njangal is not a dreamer. Only 29 years old, he is already accustomed to the violence and mistrust that appears in a state where criminality is omnipresent. The programme he leads, called Force Vives (Sharp Forces), is not your average type of organisation. Fed up and concerned of seeing those he calls "bandits" take residence in the popular quarter of Essence in Bukavu, he launched this programme, offering a more secure future for his community.
All the criminals of Bukavu spend their days and nights in the Essence quarter. They come even to plan their crimes and their operational strategies (...) That's why we created the Force Vives programme, to fight this criminality.

The child from Essence

Essence for Robert, is more than a district. He has lived there his whole life, still does, and wishes to stay there. It is an area that he knows very well, but where the crime rate has become unbearable for him. It's with a pragmatic and realistic voice that he presents his quarter.
Essence is a popular quarter where there are a lot of people but also a lot of criminals.
Child of the area, Robert could not stand it anymore to see the image of Essence spoiled by the criminal activities that, in the end, create mistrust between all the inhabitants. He regrets that the people of Essence are regarded as criminals, "bandits". But it is particularly because of the impunity that he decided to take action.
When they see the police, they attack and throw rocks at the police (...) Being from Essence, we told ourselves we didn't want to live in a district where anarchy was the rule.

A collaboration full of meaning

That's when the idea of Forces Vives was born. The principle? Gather the public forces to offer a more efficient fight against criminality to the inhabitants of the district.
"We had to collaborate closely with the police to fight the the feeling of unsafety in Essence".
With other people from the district, he organised a collaboration with the police of Bukavu. And he is very proud how efficient and effective it is: "if the police receive a complaint, they bring us a search notice (...) we invest ourselves to look for the criminal". Their advantage compared to publics forces is that the criminals "are people that we know well, that we know how to handle (...) we look for the criminal and we give him to the police or we call the police to come pick the criminal up at our office".

Working for a more peaceful future... that already has an effect

There is one memory that Robert likes to share, it's the one of the journalist Didace Namujombo from the commonly known radio Okapi, murdered in 2008 on his doorstep in Bukavu. The suspect of this murder fled to Essence. That is when Forces Vives decided to act.
We managed to catch him and we transfered him to the police.
Proud of his district and of his battle, determined and efficient, Robert Njangala finds himself dreaming of the future.
Our expectations for the future, what we want, is that the city of Bukavu becomes a haven of peace.
Shout Out

159

wajenzi_demo_large01

Robert Njangala, Bukavu

Nous collaborons avec la police pour traquer les criminels dans le quartier Essence à Bukavu (…)
Écoutez mon histoire ici-dessous. [sc_embed_player_template1  downloadable fileurl="http://www.wajenzi.co/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/Robert-Mixage-final-1.mp3"]

Robert, Engagé

La voix ferme et claire, le discours décidé, Robert Njangala n’est pas un rêveur. A 29 ans à peine, il est familier avec la violence et la méfiance qui naissent d’une criminalité parfois omniprésente. Le programme qu’il dirige, appelé Forces Vives, n’est pas non plus une association comme les autres. Lassé et inquiet de voir ceux qu’il appelle les “bandits” prendre résidence dans le quartier populaire d’Essence, à Bukavu, il a lancé ce programme afin d’offrir à son quartier natif un avenir plus sûr.
“Tous les criminels de la ville de Bukavu passent leurs journées ou leurs nuits à l'Essence, ou carrément ils viennent y planifier leur crimes ou leurs stratégies d’opérations.(...) C’est ainsi que nous avons créé le programme Forces Vives, pour lutter contre cette criminalité.”

L’enfant d’Essence

Car Essence, c’est pour Robert plus qu’un quartier : il y a vécu toute sa vie, il y vit encore, et il souhaite y rester. C’est un quartier qu’il connaît bien, mais dont l’insécurité lui est devenue insupportable. C’est la voix pragmatique, réaliste, qu’il présente sont quartier
“Essence c’est un quartier populaire où il y a beaucoup de gens, mais également beaucoup de criminels”.
Enfant du quartier, Robert Njangala ne supportait plus de voir l’image d’Essence ternie par les activités criminelles qui finissaient pas susciter une méfiance envers tous les habitants. Il regrette que “les gens de l’Essence sont considérés comme étant des criminels, des bandits”. Mais c’est surtout face à l’impunité de plus en plus importante dont bénéficiaient les “ “bandits” qu’il a décidé d’agir:
“ lorsqu’ils voyaient la police ils l’attaquaient, ils lapidaient la police (...) Étant les natifs du quartier Essence, nous nous sommes dit que l’on ne pouvait pas évoluer dans un quartier où règne l’anarchie”

Une collaboration pleine de sens

C’est alors que l’idée de Forces Vices est née. Le principe ? Associer ses forces pour offrir aux habitants du quartier une lutte plus efficace contre la criminalité.
“Il fallait collaborer étroitement avec la police, pour essayer de lutter contre cette criminalité qui se faisait sentir à l’Essence”
résume Robert. Avec d’autres hommes natifs du quartier, il a donc organisé un programme de collaboration avec la police de Bukavu, dont il est aujourd’hui fier de démontrer l’efficacité : “si la police a reçu une plainte, elle nous amène un avis de recherche (...) et nous nous nous investissons pour rechercher ce criminel “. Leur avantage par rapport aux forces de l’ordre ? Il le résume simplement : “[les criminels] ce sont des gens que nous connaissons bien, que nous maîtrisons” (...) nous cherchons le criminel et nous le transférons à la police ou nous appelons la police pour venir prendre le criminel à notre bureau.”

Un travail pour l’avenir...qui fait déjà ses preuves

Il y a un souvenir que Robert aime à raconter, c’est celui du journaliste Didace Namujimbo de la radio renommée Okapi, assassiné en 2008 à Bukavu devant son domicile. L’auteur présumé de ce meurtre s’était ensuite enfui, réfugié dans le quartier Essence. C’est alors que Force Vives a décidé d’agir :
“nous, nous avons réussi à mettre la main sur lui et nous l’avons transféré à la police”.
Fier de son quartier et de son combat, déterminé et efficace, Robert Njangala se prend néanmoins à espérer :
“nos attentes dans l’avenir, ce que nous voulons [c’est] que la ville de Bukavu soit un havre de paix”.



Voulez-vous imprimer cette histoire? Téléchargez le PDF ici.
Passe ta voix

159