wajenzi_demo_large01

Tembos Yotama, Butembo

I was angry. I couldn’t stand anymore to stay quiet and do nothing. The situation had to be changed. When police fails in its duties, we have the obligation to take a hold of ourselves to ensure our safety.

Tembos Yotama, Butembo’s rebel

This thirty-years-old young man made himself a policeman to ensure the safety of the people in the Mutsanga district, Butembo, East D.R. Congo. Replacing the police forces of little efficiency.

A movement for security

Tembos Yotama, the “Che Guevara” of Butembo? It is the role he wishes to play for his district. As a rebelling citizen, he initiated the movement "Véranda Mutsanga", a coming together of young people involved in protecting the community and their belongings in this part of D.R Congo. He standing straight with sporting clothes and a cap that is hiding part of his forehead. His face is closed. Tembos doesn't smile often. His lack of trust is rooted in the 2000s, when killings and abductions were common in his native city Butembo, as a result of increasing insecurity. He remembers the morning he found the dead body of his neighbour in the gutter not far from a military base.
I was angry, I couldn't stand anymore to stay quiet and do nothing. The situation needed to change. When the police fails in its duties, we have the obligation to take a hold of ourselves to ensure our safety.

Quick results

Inspired by readings about self-management praised by Thomas Sankara and “The Ché”, Tembos initiated the group "Véranda Mutsanga" with about ten childhood friends. As part of their resiliency strategy, they regularly gather to plan night patrols in the area. The group even introduces inhabitants to shadowing in order to detect suspicious behaviour. Fairly quickly, results became tangible.
We started to organise regular searches in houses. We found weapons, munitions and military equipment that we gave back to the police”
His biggest pride? The arrest, in 2011, of bandits working in his quarter and who threatened to kidnap a famous shopkeeper of the city.
Women alerted us. They understand our philosophy. The community trusts us. We are the first to know when something is going on, even before the police. When they alert us we call the public forces. When they take too much time, we act ourselves.

"The saviour"

From now on known as the “saviour”, Tembos is admired by the inhabitants of Mutsanga district. José Kavira, a mother, is relieved.
“The kidnappers and the hijackers have disappeared. Nights are quiet now.”
In the circles of young people, where Véranda Mutsanga is already quite popular, there are more and more members. They are efficient in securing our district. I asked a member card so that I can play a part in the new era of peace that we strive for”, explains Ndaliko Dieudonné, inhabitant of the district. Now, Tembos Yotama thinks about a way of replicating his initiative to other districts of Butembo, where insecurity still prevails.
Shout Out

159

wajenzi_demo_large01

Tembos Yotama, Butembo

J’avais la rage. Je n’en pouvais plus de rester les bras croisés sans rien faire. Il fallait changer la situation quand la police faillit à son devoir, nous avons l’obligation de nous prendre en charge pour assurer notre sécurité.

Tembos Yotama, le révolté de Butembo

Ce jeune trentenaire s’est érigé en policier pour sécuriser les populations du quartier Mutsanga à Butembo dans l’est de la République démocratique du Congo en lieu et place d’une police peu efficace.

Un mouvement pour la sécurité

Le « Che Guevara » de Butembo ? Tembos Yotama ? En tout cas, c’est le personnage qu’il souhaite incarner dans son quartier. Citoyen révolté, il est l’initiateur du mouvement Véranda Mutsanga, un collectif de jeunes impliqué dans la sécurisation des populations et leurs biens dans cette partie du Congo. Droit dans sa tenue de sport, une casquette voilant une partie de sa tempe, son visage est fermé. Tembos sourit rarement. Son côté méfiant remonte de plusieurs les années 2000, le temps où les tueries et kidnapping étaient devenus choses habituelles dans sa ville natale, Butembo, suite à l’insécurité accrue. Il se souvient du jour où il trouve, un matin, le cadavre de son voisin dans un caniveau non loin d’un caserne militaire : 
« J’avais la rage. Je n’en pouvais plus de rester les bras croisé sans rien faire. Il faillait changer la situation, quand la police faillit à son devoir, nous avons l’obligation de nous prendre en charge pour assurer notre sécurité.  »

Résultats rapides

Inspiré par des lectures sur l'auto-prise en charge que prônaient Thomas Sankara et « Le Ché », Tembos initie alors le collectif Véranda Mutsanga avec une dizaine d’amis d'enfance. Dans leur stratégie de résilience, ils se réunissent régulièrement pour planifient des patrouilles nocturnes dans le quartier. Le collectif entraîne même des habitants aux techniques de filature afin de détecter des «mouvements suspects». Vite, les résultats sont tangibles. 
« Nous avons commencé par organiser des fouilles systématiques dans des maisons. Nous tombions souvent sur des armes, des minutions et des effets militaires que nous remettions à la police  »
L'une de ses fiertés ? L’arrestation, en 2011, des bandits qui sévissaient dans son quartier et qui avaient menacé de kidnapper un commerçant célèbre de la ville.
« Ce sont des femmes qui nous avaient alerté. Elles avaient bien compris la philosophie. La population nous a fait confiance. Nous sommes les premiers alertés avant la police. En suite, nous appelons les forces de l'ordre à notre tour. Si elles traîne les pas, nous intervenons. »

Le sauveur

Désormais, reconnu comme le « sauveur », il suscite de l'admiration auprès des habitants du quartier Mutsanga. José Kavira, mère de famille, témoigne : « les Kidnappeurs et coupeurs des routes ont disparu. Les nuits tranquille ces jours-ci ». En milieux jeunes où Véranda Mutsanga est déjà populaire, les adhésions sont en masse.
« Ils sont efficaces dans la sécurisation de notre quartier. J’ai demandé une carte de membre pour contribuer à cet air de paix que nous savourons », Ndaliko Dieudonné, habitant du quartier.

Pour l’instant, Tembos Yotama réfléchit comment exporter son initiative dans d'autres quartiers de la ville Butembo où l’ l'insécurité fait toujours rage.


Voulez-vous imprimer cette histoire? Téléchargez le PDF ici.
Passe ta voix

159