Who we are,

Who we are

Wajenzi is the result of a co-creation workshop that took place in Bukavu, D.R. Congo in June 2013. During this workshop, representatives from media organisations, NGO’s, youth representatives and artists joined forces to co-create a campaign and a platform for social change. The aim was to reward young changemakers and inspire the opinion leaders of tomorrow.

Wajenzi is part of the ‘Roadmap To Peace’ programme of Oxfam Novib and Radio La Benevolencija. It is a regional programme (D.R. Congo, Burundi and Rwanda) to support organisations and civil society to play a key role in the construction of peace and to end regional conflict.

Founders

Oxfam Novib, Radio la Benevolencija, Radio Netherlands Worldwide and Butterfly Works joined forces in making Wajenzi kick off.

Butterfly Works is the initiator and concept developer of Wajenzi. The Wajenzi concept is inspired by experiences of Butterfly Works in running ‘Unsung Peace Heroes’ and ‘Building Bridges’, which are peace mapping campaigns in Kenya.

Radio Netherlands Worldwide secures that Wajenzi stands for an open exchange of ideas and stories. Also, their local team members are part of producing the Wajenzi (audiovisual) stories that are found on the profile pages.

Radio La Benevolencjia is the project manager in D.R. Congo and allign the Wajenzi activities with other projects and initiatives in the region.

Oxfam Novib supported Wajenzi from the very first start and keeps an eye on the regional impact of the activities.

Journalists and media

Independent journalists play an important role in the campaign. They are the storytellers and provide people from all layers of the society with inspiring stories and practical examples. They have the capacities to reach out to a broad audience on a local, regional and international level. From youth in a village nearby and regional policy makers to the international media.

The media network within the Kivu’s region plays a big role in sharing stories of the young changemakers and invite new change makers to join the network. Local and international media help us spread the word. Radio stations for example broadcast Wajenzi stories and call up for entries and voting. The stories and profiles of the young changemakers inspire other media formats such as debates, theater, music and printed media.



* The word “Wajenzi” is the Swahili word for “builders”. The word “Mjenzi” is the singular form of Wajenzi.

Qui sommes-nous,

Qui sommes-nous

Wajenzi est le résultat d’un atelier de co-création qui a eu lieu à Bukavu, RDC en juin 2013. Pendant ces ateliers, des porte-parole d’organismes de médias, des ONG mais également des représentants de la jeunesse et des artistes se sont rejoints pour co-créer une campagne et une plate-forme pour le changement social. L’objectif est de récompenser des jeunes acteurs du changement et d’inspirer les leaders d’opinion de demain.

Wajenzi fait partie de la « Feuille de route du programme de paix » d’Oxfam Novib et Radio La Benevolencija. La Feuille de route de la Paix est un programme régional (RD Congo, Burundi et Rwanda) qui a pour but d’aider les organismes et la société civile à jouer un rôle essentiel dans la construction d’une société pacifique et pour mettre fin au conflit régional.

Fondateurs

Oxfam Novib, Radio la Benevolencija, Radio Nederland Worldwide et Butterfly Works ont rassemblé leurs forces en créant Wajenzi.

Butterfly Works est l’initiateur et le développeur du concept de Wajenzi. Le concept Wajenzi a été inspiré par les expériences de Butterfly Works qui a déjà dirigé “Héros inconnus de la Paix” et “Construire des Ponts”, des campagnes promouvant la paix au Kenya.

Radio Netherlands Worldwide s’assure que Wajenzi représente un échange ouvert d’idées et d’histoires. Les membres de l’équipe locale contribuent à produire les histoires Wajenzi (audiovisuelles) qui sont présentes sur leur page de profil.

Radio La Benevolencjia est le chef de projet en RDC et assure la liaison entre les activités Wajenzi et les autres projets de la région.

Oxfam Novib soutient Wajenzi depuis le début et garde un oeil sur l’impact régional des activités.

Journalistes et médias

Les journalistes indépendants jouent un rôle important dans la campagne. Ils sont les raconteurs d’histoires et fournissent aux personnes de toutes les couches sociales de la société des histoires inspirantes et des exemples pratiques. Ils ont les capacités de toucher une large audience à un niveau local, régional et international. De la jeunesse d’un village des environs aux décideurs politiques régionaux en passant par les médias internationaux.

Le réseau des médias dans la région du Kivu joue un grand rôle dans le partage des histoires des jeunes acteurs du changement et en invite de nouveaux à joindre le réseau. Les médias locaux et internationaux nous aident à diffuser notre parole. Les stations de radio locales diffusent par exemple des histoires de Wajenzi et invitent eles auditeurs à s’inscrire et à voter. Les histoires et les profils des jeunes acteurs du changement inspirent d’autres médias, pensez à des discussions, théâtre, musique et médias de presse.



* Le mot “Wajenzi” signifie “Constructeurs” en Swahili. Le mot “Mjenzi” est le singulier de Wajenzi.